Why, How and When to Plant Garlic

Reader Contribution by Staff
article image

<p>

</p>
<p>
<br />
Garlic is one of Mother Nature’s most versatile herbs, with qualities both culinary and medicinal. It’s one of the easiest plants you can grow, and it also happens to be one of the few things you should plant right now — in the fall. (Unless you live in Wasilla, Alaska, in which case it’s probably too late for you this season — but feel free to bookmark this article for next year!)</p>
<p>
</p>
<p>
<strong>GROWING GARLIC</strong>
<br />
For those of you with still-unfrozen ground, here are a few resources to help you get started:</p>
<ul>
<li>
<a title=”Plant Now for Great Garlic” href=”https://www.motherearthnews.com/organic-gardening/plant-great-garlic-zmaz05onzsel” target=”_blank”>Plant Now for Great Garlic</a>
</li>
<li>
<a href=”https://www.motherearthnews.com/blog/motherearthliving/organic_gardening/plant-garlic_570-1.html” target=”_blank”>Plant Garlic this Fall</a>
</li>
<li>
<a title=”Gourmet Garlic from the Ground Up” href=”http://www.herbcompanion.com/gardening/gourmet-garlic-from-the-ground-up.aspx” target=”_blank”>Gourmet Garlic from the Ground Up</a>
</li>
<li>
<a title=”Growing Garlic Scapes” href=”https://www.motherearthnews.com/organic-gardening/growing-garlic-scapes”>Growing Garlic Scapes</a>
</li>
<li>
<a title=”Garlic: A Plant to Love” href=”http://www.grit.com/Garden/Garlic.aspx” target=”_blank”>Garlic: A Plant to Love</a>
</li>
<li>
<a title=”Harvest Time and Planting Time” href=”http://www.grit.com/blogs/Harvest_Time_and_Planting_Time.aspx?blogid=1186″ target=”_blank”>Harvest Time and Planting Time</a>
</li>
<li>
<a href=”https://www.motherearthnews.com/blog/motherearthliving/organic_gardening/how-to-grow-garlic-seed-sources_767-1.html” target=”_blank”>Garlic Seed Sources</a>
</li>
<li>
<a title=”A Few of My Favorite Garlics” href=”http://www.herbcompanion.com/gardening/a-few-of-my-favorite-garlics.aspx” target=”_blank”>A Few of My Favorite Garlics</a>
</li>
</ul>
<p>
<strong>GARLIC FOR HEALTH<br />
</strong>Garlic is one of nature’s greatest nutritional powerhouses. Learn more about the long list of battles it fights so well:</p>
<ul>
<li>
<a title=”Great-tasting Garlic is Good for Your Heart” href=”https://www.motherearthnews.com/natural-health/health-benefits-of-garlic-zmaz08fmzmcc” target=”_blank”>Great-tasting Garlic is Good for Your Heart</a>
</li>
<li>
<a href=”https://www.motherearthnews.com/blog/motherearthliving/natural_health/health-benefits-of-garlic_769-1.html” target=”_blank”>Garlic and Your Health</a>
</li>
<li>
<a title=”Garlic: Nature’s Gift for Life” href=”http://www.herbcompanion.com/healing/garlic-natures-gift-for-life.aspx” target=”_blank”>Garlic: Nature’s Gift for Life</a>
</li>
</ul>
<p>
<strong>GARLIC IN THE KITCHEN<br />
</strong>And now for some super garlic recipes to put those beautiful bulbs to work:</p>
<ul>
<li>
<a title=”Garlic Scapes” href=”https://www.motherearthnews.com/real-food/garlic-scapes-zmaz05onzsel” target=”_blank”>Garlic Scapes</a>
</li>
<li>
<a title=”More on Scapes” href=”https://www.motherearthnews.com/relish/real-food/seasonal-cooking-garlic-scapes-recipe?blogid=1508″ target=”_blank”>More on Scapes</a>
</li>
<li>
<a title=”Garlicky Bruschetta Recipe” href=”https://www.motherearthnews.com/relish/garlicky-bruschetta-recipe?blogid=1508″ target=”_blank”>Garlicky Bruschetta</a>
</li>
<li>
<a title=”Extra-creamy Roasted Garlic Guacamole” href=”https://www.motherearthnews.com/relish/extra-creamy-roasted-garlic-guacamole-recipe?blogid=1508″ target=”_blank”>Extra-creamy Roasted Garlic Guacamole</a>
</li>
<li>
<a title=”How to Roast Garlic” href=”https://www.motherearthnews.com/relish/how-to-roast-garlic?blogid=1508″ target=”_blank”>How to Roast Garlic</a>
</li>
<li>
<a title=”Easy Refrigerator Pickled Garlic” href=”https://www.motherearthnews.com/relish/easy-refrigerator-pickled-garlic?blogid=1508″ target=”_blank”>Easy Refrigerator Pickled Garlic</a>
</li>
<li>
<a title=”Make Your Own Garlic Powder” href=”https://www.motherearthnews.com/real-food/make-your-own-garlic-powder” target=”_blank”>Make Your Own Garlic Powder</a>
</li>
<li>
<a title=”Great Garlic Recipes” href=”https://www.motherearthnews.com/real-food/great-garlic-recipes” target=”_blank”>Great Garlic Recipes</a>
</li>
<li>
<a title=”Garlic Makes It Good” href=”http://www.herbcompanion.com/cooking/garlic-makes-it-good.aspx” target=”_blank”>Garlic Makes It Good</a>
</li>
</ul>
<p>Love garlic/Don’t cook? Check out these <a title=”Specialty Garlic Restaurants” href=”https://www.motherearthnews.com/relish/specialty-garlic-restaurants?blogid=1508″ target=”_blank”>Specialty Garlic Restaurants</a>.</p>
<p>
<hr />
<strong>Photo: Creative Commons</strong>