Mother Earth News Blogs > Ask Our Experts

Ask Our Experts

Answers to your questions about gardening, energy, homesteading and other sustainable living topics.


Where to Buy Non-GMO Seeds

Can you recommend a reputable company or website that sells non-GMO, organic garden seeds?

High Mowing Organic Seeds

So far, only a handful of common garden crops have been genetically engineered, and, as far as we know, no garden seed companies are knowingly selling genetically modified (GM) varieties at this time. Additionally, many garden seed companies sell Certified Organic seeds, and the certification rules prohibit genetic modification. Even if new GM varieties enter the market, as long as you choose Certified Organic garden seeds, you’ll be avoiding genetically modified organisms (GMOs).

Two mail-order companies that offer only Certified Organic seeds are High Mowing Organic Seeds and Seeds of Change. Certified Organic, GMO-free seeds are usually labeled as such in seed catalogs and on racks.

When choosing where to buy non-GMO seeds, you can also turn to companies that have signed the Safe Seed Pledge. This pledge is maintained by the Council for Responsible Genetics, and the companies that sign it promise not to knowingly sell GM seeds.

Unlike garden seeds, major farm crops — corn, soybeans, canola, sugar beets, alfalfa and cotton — are now predominantly GM, and 70 percent or more of foods in supermarkets directly or indirectly contain GMOs. For tips on how to forgo GM products in your everyday food purchases, read How to Avoid Genetically Modified Food.

Photo courtesy High Mowing Organic Seeds: All offerings from High Mowing Organic Seeds are Certified Organic.


Cheryl Long is the editor in chief of MOTHER EARTH NEWS magazine, and a leading advocate for more sustainable lifestyles. She leads a team of editors which produces high quality content that has resulted in MOTHER EARTH NEWS being rated as one of North America’s favorite magazines. Long lives on an 8-acre homestead near Topeka, Kan., powered in part by solar panels, where she manages a large organic garden and a small flock of heritage chickens. Prior to taking the helm at MOTHER EARTH NEWS, she was an editor at Organic Gardening magazine for 10 years. Connect with her on .

kris
3/11/2015 12:22:20 AM

http://www.bountifulgardens.org/ has certificates online and shopping, order a catalog, offers a lot of information online also 'We only sell untreated, open-pollinated, non-GMO seed of heirloom quality for vegetables, herbs, flowers, grains, green manures, compost and carbon crops. We are able to offer many of our varieties as: Certified Organic (O); Natural (N); and Grow BiointensiveTM (GB) (sustainable organic).'


seth
2/6/2015 10:13:44 AM

My go to supplier for Non-GMO seeds is Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds. And I have had terrible customer service at Citizens Bank. I do not condone their advertising.


éka
2/5/2015 10:00:36 PM

Seeds of Change looks interesting but it's based in California so, the seeds probably aren't very well adapted to northern/northeastern climates. High Mowing is interesting, -- though they offer a lot of hybrids which I'm not a huge fan of. Having said that, I don't fully understand Hybrids, -- except for the fact that their seeds don't come 'true' when seed saving. However, they are located in Maine and offer open-pollinated varieties as well! If you're looking for more (northern adapted) choices though, here's some additional options (below). Also, if you have any other additions/recommendations, please let me know! QUEBEC - Heirloom and/or Organic La société des plantes - http://www.lasocietedesplantes.com/ Potager d'Antan - http://potagersdantan.wordpress.com/pour-commander/ Les Jardins de Nathalie - http://semences-jardinsnathalie.com/ Tourne-Sol Co-operative Farm - http://www.fermetournesol.qc.ca/ Jardins de l’Écoumène - http://www.ecoumene.com/accueil Solana Seeds - http://solanaseeds.netfirms.com/welcome.html Ecogenesis - http://www.ecogenesis.co/ ONTARIO + EASTERN CANADA - Heirloom and/or Organic Mapple Farm - http://www.mapplefarm.com/_%3A%3A%3A_Mapple_Farm_Online_%3A%3A%3A..html Annapolis Seeds - http://www.annapolisseeds.com/category-s/1814.htm Cubit's rare, heirloom and organically grown seeds - https://www.etsy.com/ca/shop/cubits?ref=l2-shop-info-avatar Edible Antiques - http://edible-antiques.myshopify.com/ Heritage Seed and Produce - http://www.heritageseedandproduce.com/ The Cottage Gardener - http://www.cottagegardener.com/about-us/ Pumpkin Moon Farm - http://pumpkinmoonherbals.com/pages/about-us Upper Canada Seeds - http://www.uppercanadaseeds.ca/ Yuko’s Open-Pollinated Seeds - http://www.yuko.ca/seeds/index.html Tree and Twig - http://www.treeandtwig.ca/ Incredible Seeds - http://www.incredibleseeds.ca/ Florabunda Seeds - http://www.florabundaseeds.com/ Moutain Seed Company - http://mountainseedco.com/ Terra Edibles - http://www.terraedibles.ca/ Hawthorn Farm Organic Seeds - http://www.hawthornfarm.ca/beans_bush.php Hope Seeds - http://www.hopeseed.com/home Urban Harvest - http://www.uharvest.ca/ Seeds of Creation - http://www.seedsofcreation.ca/html/vegetables.html Greta's Organic Gardens - http://www.seeds-organic.com Hawthorn Farms Organic Seed - http://www.hawthornfarm.ca/vegetables.php NORTHEASTERN USA Fruition Seeds - http://www.fruitionseeds.com/SearchResults.asp?Cat=1477 USA Full Circle Seeds - http://www.fullcircleseeds.com Baker's Creek - http://www.rareseeds.com/store/vegetables/ Seed Saver's Exchange - http://www.seedsavers.org/onlinestore/Vegetables/ Tomato Bob - http://www.shop.tomatobob.com/Vegetable-Seeds_c20.htm Sow True Seed - http://sowtrueseed.com/contact-details/ WESTERN CANADA - Heirloom and/or Organic Heritage Harvest Seed - https://www.heritageharvestseed.com/ A'bunadh - https://gardenofeden2010.wordpress.com/ Green Space Designs - http://www.organic-seeds.ca/ Harmonic Herbs - http://www.harmonicherbs.com/ Eternal Seed - http://www.eternalseed.ca/index.php?Lang=En&ID=1 Salt Spring Seeds - http://www.saltspringseeds.com/pages/contact-us Eagle Creek Seed Potatoes - https://seedpotatoes.ca/ Eagleridge Seeds - http://www.eagleridgeseeds.com/ Prairie Garden Seeds - http://prseeds.ca/seed_categories/grains-cereals/page/2/ Note: I've more or less intentionally excluded OSC Seeds, West Coast Seeds, Johnny's Selected Seeds, Stokes, Veseys and Richter's for various reasons, -- but they also carry some interesting products.


penster47
2/5/2015 12:29:02 PM

If seeds are called "Heirloom Seeds" could we consider them non-gmo?


highmowingorganicseeds
2/5/2015 8:43:21 AM

If you have any questions about our Non-GMO Project Verification, feel free to get in touch with us at questions@highmowingseeds.com Thanks!


highmowingorganicseeds
2/5/2015 8:41:52 AM

Hi Lori, Greetings from High Mowing Organic Seeds! We just want to clarify around the non-GMO seed issue. We are not trying to mislead anyone and want to be clear about what we are claiming. High Mowing has never, and will never sell GM seeds (which you correctly pointed out are not marketed to home gardeners anyways). The reason we have gotten all of our Certified Organic seeds Non-GMO Project Verified is because of the risk of contamination through cross-pollination. Corn, soybeans, summer squash and alfalfa are all widely-grown GM crops in the United States, and all of these crops can (and do) easily cross-pollinate organic crops. When this happens, the seeds (i.e. the kernels of corn on the cob) from the crops become contaminated with genetically modified DNA. If you were to eat or plant these seeds, you would be unknowingly eating or planting seeds with GM traits - and we want to make sure we are not selling these seeds. So, as part of our strategy to avoid selling contaminated seed, we test the seeds of all these "high risk" crops for the presence of GMOs. The testing is how we validate our process for avoiding contamination, which involves rigorous field and equipment isolation practices and inspection of our harvest and handling systems by the Non-GMO Project. We hope this clarifies the issue and we appreciate your concern about the non-GMO seed issue! If you have any questions about


lori
2/5/2015 7:49:44 AM

This article is misleading. There are currently no GMO seed packets available commercially. The only GMO seed allowed today are large agricultural crops, Wheat, Soybeans, Corn ,Canola mustard and Sugar beets. Relax people, and do your research first before over-reacting. Your packets of seed are safe. Plus, know this - any seed company that lists 'NON-GMO' seed on their catalog cover is misleading you - it's the same thing as saying 'Sugar is fat free'. Of course it is. No retail seed catalog in the world can sell GMO seed. It's too expensive, and not the crops one would grow in the home garden anyway. However there is plenty of GMO in commercially available processed food.