Logged in as: Anonymous Search | Active Topics |

Suggestions appreciated for new homesteader... Options
andydufresne
#1 Posted : Sunday, October 05, 2003 6:18:48 PM

First thing I''d do is get the commercial license. THEN look at other things. I am new to beekeeping but I think if you are going to do it you should do it now. Try to find some colonies that are already established but need to be sold. I have bought two and agreed to buy 2 more by the end of the month from a fellow that likes growing and dividing them.

If you start now you still won''t harvest honey till next fall. BUT fresh from the farm honey does fetch a pretty good price around here. I intend to market mine via the Internet as well as here and make the labels with the logo for my fruit farm...I expect IT to be up and running and paying me in 10 years. it''s my retirement plan.

If you have some cleared land then plant a garden with something that you can sell there. If you can make a "greenhouse" type covering you might be able to get a jump on other farmers in the area. CHECK THE MOTHER ARCHIVES for plans for things that allow you to get a jump on things in the spring.

The Internet is a wonderful resource for things such as this.
skruzich
#2 Posted : Sunday, October 05, 2003 6:46:07 PM

Honey around here gets 8 bucks a pound i think. It isn''t easy to get marketed if there are other honey producers in the area.
I have however found a work from home type job in the computer field. Its a computer field service tech, mostly replacing parts and installing Operating systems and installing new systems and migrating data over most of it is service work servicing computers like from Dell, Best buy ect ect. They don''t have a whole lot of work at this time but will probably have plenty in the near future since they are growing fast. Also you can get between 15 - 25 bucks an hour.