Logged in as: Anonymous Search | Active Topics |

Which brand of pressure cooker do you recommend? Options
celtic2
#1 Posted : Sunday, October 19, 2008 3:47:41 PM

I have been using Presto for many years and they work great!
Durgan
#2 Posted : Tuesday, November 18, 2008 3:12:04 AM

Pressure Cooker

http://www.durgan.org/ShortURL/?OWLRF 10 November 2008 Pressure Cooker

The old Presto Pressure Cooker was replaced. The new one is 8 quarts and the old one still functioning after 30 years was 5 quart. The construction is basically the same, but the new one is polished aluminum, which won't leach aluminum as much as the older type material.

A large percentage of my cooking is done with the pressure cooker. With a bit of practice cooking is quick and food retains more nutrients.

For an insert a colander is utilized with the handles knocked off. All pressure cookers should have an insert to prevent water from touching the material being cooked, and to prevent material from bubbling and clogging the pressure ports. I have several inserts, but see no reason why the fold up type would not work.
Here is what I use. http://www.durgan.org/ShortURL/?FMXRO
The screen type is ideal for grains, and the larger is my first effort, which is probably better for solid food and beans. It is also easier to clean.

There are several Pressure Cookers on the market, but with ridiculously complicated locking mechanisms, and peculiar ports. Caveat emptor!
practicalman45
#3 Posted : Tuesday, June 30, 2009 7:32:10 PM