Logged in as: Anonymous Search | Active Topics |

First year garden over grass Options
Frosty
#1 Posted : Sunday, February 14, 2010 4:28:55 AM

I have seen in some sites where they talk about killing off weeds, you wet the ground there and put clear plastic sheeting over it to kill off the weeds.  Otherwise, maybe layer cardboard or newspapers there?  It should smother out the grass without cooking the good stuff in the soil...  I have no experience with lasagne gardening, but damp cardboard on the ground attracts earthworms, which then dig tunnels to aerate the soil and leave castings which fertilize the soil.  Any ammendments could be put on top of the cardboard.   I think this should work?

CountryfarmLifestyles
#2 Posted : Friday, February 19, 2010 5:05:46 AM

Basically what you are wanting is a no-dig garden. It is simple to establish and is an ideal way of growing flowers and vegetables, not just over grass, but even over concrete. No dig gardening is a great way to garden without back-breaking work.

http://www.countryfarm-lifestyles.com/no-dig-gardening.html for more information on how to go about creating such a garden.

John Stiles
#3 Posted : Friday, February 19, 2010 12:11:03 PM

I've never had luck with no dig. To me it seems if you don't dig the root zone up your roots will just be stunted in compacted soil.  I would dig and improve a small patch to see the difference.

In my garden you could lose a shoe or sink up to your elbow in places.

chickory
#4 Posted : Monday, March 29, 2010 1:20:20 PM

For me, it is never too late to start a lasagna garden.  Patience is the key.

The first year I put in a bed I just 'drill' a few holes and put in some plants so that I get some immediate satisfaction.  I am putting in a garden for a friend this week.