Logged in as: Anonymous Search | Active Topics |

hot water heater turned wood stove Options
practicalman45
#1 Posted : Monday, August 10, 2009 5:18:54 AM

Hi, Greenpassion, welcome to the forums. Having been inspired by those plans in the article you mentioned, I built several stoves just like that in the late 1970s. I'm a welder/fabricator by trade. Since then, I have made several  water heater tank woodstoves. The orignal design (in the article) worked okay, but I have evolved a design that uses an end-loading door, and a box atop the tank that is a secondary combustion chamber and has a flat top very suitable for cooking because of  the baffle effect of the design. I did not like the top loading door in the original stove design in that article, nor the baffled air inlet tube that ran along the bottom inside the firebox. It was hard to load wood into, and a hassle to clean out the ashes.

Basicly when using waterheater tanks, which are quite thin, you can get a lot of the heat out from the fire through the thin tank. It is a radiant heater design. These uninsulated firebox stoves have the effect of cooling the burn through their extracting  much of the initial heat, the firebox temperatures do not get real high (which is the design intent of the modern day low emission stoves, with their insulating bricks).  These are not low emission stoves, especially if used improperly. That said, with careful use, these thin stoves can achieve a real efficiency in terms of the amount of wood consumed. They can be very thrifty of your woodpile. The ones that I've made also have the virtue of having a very wide operating range. They can be run from very slow, to very hot. They put out heat quickly after you light them. That makes them thrifty when you don't need much heat. They are best used by limiting the fuel, rather than filling them up and choking down the air supply, which causes them to burn dirty and make smoke.