Logged in as: Anonymous Search | Active Topics |

Hybrid cars emit more carbon? Options
John Edward Mercier
#1 Posted : Wednesday, January 28, 2009 3:26:09 AM

Their numbers are valid, but yours aren't.

Barring rare defects or accidents the hybrid batteries will last the lifetime of the vehicle.

ChuckMI
#2 Posted : Thursday, January 29, 2009 7:30:04 PM

John,
My 4-5 year lifetime of rechargable NiCad and Lithium batteries is based on my experience of consumer grade batteries (AA and AAA mostly) which I have been using since 1987. Can you explain why the life of a rechargable car batt. would be any different?

Current car batteries in gas powered cars are also rechargable, they are recharged when the car is running. And they usually need to be replaced every 5-6 years. (My experience with cars goes back to 1985 so I'm not new to this.)

Also, people who use heavy-duty batteries in their solar (PV) or wind powered systems also report the same thing (via other internet forums). Those batteries also must be replaced every 4-5 years, and they must all be replaced at the same time, often resulting in a $2000-3000 expenditure.

davisonh
#3 Posted : Friday, January 30, 2009 1:20:48 AM