Logged in as: Anonymous Search | Active Topics |

underground home roof Options
davisonh
#1 Posted : Saturday, April 28, 2007 3:20:47 AM

Try putting a piece of sheetmetal over the roof,there's not too much other than the sheen on metal that'll keep the roots from adhering to it.Good luck...
John Stiles
#2 Posted : Monday, April 30, 2007 10:49:43 AM

If the yucca are a recent problem after 20 years of use and the roof is still good: Try killing off the yucca by depriving them of light. Use black plastic to cover your roff to kill off all growth then repalnt prefered vegetation.

If not removing the soil and placing a layer of metal roofing might work if the roots didn't get between the sheets.

JAK
#3 Posted : Wednesday, May 02, 2007 7:38:24 PM

Interesting thread. I really like the idea of living roofs and living walls but I think there is still lots of room for development. As a mechanical engineer I tend to have an affinity for metals also, but since I've had an opportunity recently to teach a materials science course a couple of times, and from participating on forums such as this with all their links to the web, I've grown increasingly interested in ceramics.