Logged in as: Anonymous Search | Active Topics |

Worthington, Ohio- Urban Chicken Movement Options
Inquizzzitive
#1 Posted : Thursday, January 29, 2009 5:45:14 AM

I'm a chicken hobbyist myself.  I started out with incubating and hatching eggs.  The only breed that I own are the Silkie Bantam.  I too live in a village/town that has ordinances regarding horses/livestock.  So far as I know there isn't one pertaining to Chickens/Poultry.  If there is, so far I've flown under the radar. 

My neighbors are very close on all sides with the exception of the front yard.  We live on a busy main road.  But my neighbors house on one side is within 20 yards of my Chicken's Coop.  The house on the other side is very close and separated from my yard by just the driveway.  There is also a new subdivision that has been built within the past 5 years directly behind my yard. 

My neighbors, so far, have had absolutely no complaints!  As a matter of fact, if there are children visiting at their homes, they often ask if the children can visit the chickens!  I always welcome the opportunity to educate youngsters on the benefits of raising chickens and explain what miraculous little creatures that they are! 

Perhaps you could try passing along a petition throughout the neighborhood to ask for an exception to the ordinance or even to have it abolished.  I know that if and when the time should come that I should experience a problem such as this, I wouldn't hesitate to take any and all actions that I could to do so!  I enjoy my little Bantams and they are the perfect little pet for small spaces!

Raymond James
#2 Posted : Friday, January 30, 2009 3:50:09 AM