Logged in as: Anonymous Search | Active Topics |

newbie - perfect backyard chickens? Options
novillero
#1 Posted : Monday, December 01, 2008 4:54:04 AM

Hi, I live in the suburbs of NJ.  I was looking to get into a few layers in the backyard.  I have woods behind me, and one neighbor to each side.  My lot is about 65 feet wide by 120 feet deep - but as noted it is extremely deep if you consider the woods behind me. 

Given the proximity of 2 of my neighbors, I am looking for a decent layer with a docile temperament, and a bit on the quieter side.  This size of the bird or eggs is not a concern at this moment as I am just a beginner and plan to have only about 4 birds (for now, but maybe another bird or two more in the future).

I looked up the ordinances in town, and there is nothing against having livestock or poultry, which I thought strange for a small town in my neck of the woods. Regardless I want to keep this on the down-low and avoid any problems.  Hence looking for a quieter, more docile breed.

My next question is about a proper home and a run.  I have a St. Bernard, and not a huge backyard.  So I'll have to fence the chickens in, and they will not have the run of the yard, just a small portion.  How much room should I allow, small but not too confining. 

The area (corner f the yard) where I was planning to keep to keep the run is shady, but not deep shade.  Does that affect the health of the chickens or their ability to lay.\

Also, I have been perusing internet plans for the right coop, can anyone point me to a decent coop structure for this size "flock" - maybe permitting a bird or two more.  And with the weather conditions of New Jersey in mind?  I'm confused about keeping them warm in the winter.

Any help appreciated, links welcome.

Frosty
#2 Posted : Monday, December 01, 2008 4:54:04 AM

Hi, and welcome to Mother Earth!  I am not familiar with your climate, I am in North Dakota so what I do will probably be overkill for you.