Logged in as: Anonymous Search | Active Topics |

How do I pull solar energy in from windows that don't face south? Options
martingr
#1 Posted : Sunday, March 16, 2008 1:44:24 AM

Wildernessgirl,

We installed heavy drapes on our windows and sliding glass door, on the windows facing south we open drapes during the day and at sundown close them, the other windows if its cold we leave closed, also have shades that we pull down helps to keep heat in. There maybe a way for you to build a passive solar collector in the those windows facing south?

Gary

teamster229
#2 Posted : Monday, March 17, 2008 1:02:21 AM

I would suggest putting some dark slate on the floor in the sun of those sw facing windows maybe you could get some passive solar from them another thing you could do is plug the cold windows with the styrofoam insulation boards they sell at home depot / lowes.you really cant do too much because its a rental. sorry i m not much help im not a pro just an experimentor at this..
martingr
#3 Posted : Monday, March 17, 2008 3:01:49 AM

April,  Dark slate on the floor is a good thought, maybe a container painted black on the window sill, fill with small pebbles to absort the heat? Teamster has a point about renting and doing to much, but might be a idea to do a little experminting on your own, so when you get your own place you could have some ideas to incorperate. An other thing you can do is look for cold drafts, around the windows sills, these you can stop by  placing a heavy rolled towel on the sills can also fix drafts under the doors same way. Its just as important to keep heat in as its is to make it.

Gary

martingr
#4 Posted : Monday, March 17, 2008 3:03:20 AM

Sorry Wildnessgirl, didn't mean to address this April.

Gary

willdernessgirl
#5 Posted : Thursday, March 20, 2008 7:31:26 PM